AINON - Drought


LP / Europe / 2020
Condition: New


€26.90 Preorder: 9/4/2020
Incl. 16% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost
Add to Wishlist

Preorder Info

Expected shipping: 9/4/2020

The pre-order date given here is the release date estimated by the distributor/label. It might change! As soon as we have all of your ordered items in stock we will ship your order.


We Jazz Records presents the debut album of AINON, a Helsinki-based ensemble founded by cellist-composer Aino Juutilainen, released 4 September. On "Drought", the four-piece plays music influenced by jazz, contemporary music and classical music, all morphed together into a highly inspired musical vision. The music of AINON might be best described as "spiritual avantgarde jazz", with original compositions and the individual voices of the four players both playing an integral part in the music. In addition to Juutilainen, the quartet includes Satu-Maija Aalto (violin / viola), Suvi Linnovaara (saxophone / clarinet / flute) and Joonas Leppänen (of Alder Ego, drums).

The quartet has a knack for creating strong moods and performing their original material with remarkable intensity. Mood-wise, the album ranges from serene, almost ambient-like passages to moments of strong improvisation and explosive energy. RIYL: spiritual jazz, modern classical, avantgarde

AINON's "Drought" is released by We Jazz Records on vinyl, CD and digitally. The vinyl version comes with a heavy-duty "tip-on" sleeve and the CD is presented with a laminated digisleeve. The album design features artwork by Finnish visual artist Maija Lassila.

1 Kruununhaka
2 Anaesthesia
3 Drought
4 Spell I
5 The Bird Does Not Fly
6 Obscure Dreams
7 Spell II
8 Grannies & Seagulls
9 Schön Berg
10 O
11 Time Transformed