John Barry - Walkabout

John Barry

LP / Europe / 2019
Condition: New


€23.90 Preorder: 7/12/2019
Incl. 16% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost
Add to Wishlist

Preorder Info

Expected shipping: 7/12/2019

The pre-order date given here is the release date estimated by the distributor/label. It might change! As soon as we have all of your ordered items in stock we will ship your order.


A lost paradise, a lost innocence, and a lost culture; these are the dominant themes presented in Nicolas Roeg's 1971 masterpiece Walkabout, a survival story of two children lost in the scorched Australian wilderness. Together with other seminal Australian surrealistic outback films, (e.g. Wake In Fright) Walkabout was a film that reshaped the Australian film industry and defined the country's New Wave. On the cusp of the film's 45t h anniversary it is pertinent to observe that for decades the film's original soundtrack has also been considered lost. Composed and conducted by the acclaimed British film composer John Barry, the score is a hallucinogenic mix of exotic romanticism, children's nursery rhyme and potent psychedelic experimentation. For decades, the consensus among soundtrack circles was that the master tapes were officially missing with little chance that the music would ever see a legitimate release, but The Roundtable is pleased to announce that this is no longer the case. The complete soundtrack to one of cinema history's most visually spellbinding films has now finally been re-discovered, sourced from the original stereo master tapes and prepared to the guidelines of the original ill-fated 1970s LP release.

The premiere soundtrack release to Nicolas Roeg's 1971 New Wave Masterpiece.
Lost hallucinogenic orchestral score from acclaimed film composer John Barry.
12-track LP re-mastered from the original stereo master tapes.
180g vinyl and deluxe packaging including archival film stills and original press material.
6 Panel digipack CD.

1 Walkabout
2 The Children
3 Stranded
4 Survival Test
5 Electronic Dance (feat. Billy Mitchell)
6 The Journey
7 The Three of Us
8 Together at Sunset
9 Los Angeles (feat. Warren Marley)
10 Night in the Outback
11 Professional Crumble
12 Back to Nature